2017 Melbourne Cup Field, Barriers & Odds

Melbourne Cup Winners

Whether you are a seasoned punter or prefer a once-a-year “flutter”, who hasn’t heard of former champion Melbourne Cup winners like Makybe Diva, Rain Lover, Think Big, Phar Lap or Archer?

Final 2017 Melbourne Cup Results

  • 1st.Rekindling
  • 2nd.Johannes Vermeer
  • 3rd.Max Dynamite
  • 4th.Big Duke

Those Melbourne Cup winners are almost as legendary as the race itself.Cup Winners

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

The Melbourne Cup is an Australian institution. After all, it’s called “the race that stops a nation”, and for good reason.

The $6 million race is Australia’s premier and most popular thoroughbred race for three-year-olds and over. It is billed as the richest and most prestigious “two-mile” (it’s actually 3,200 metres) handicap horse race in the world.

Each year at about 3:10pm on the first Tuesday in November, people across Australia cease whatever they are doing to watch the race which is broadcast live on commercial television.

The 2016 Melbourne Cup will be held on Tuesday, November 1st.

Melbourne Cup Winners: A Brief History

The first of the champion Melbourne Cup winners was Archer, who won the inaugural race in 1861 in a field of 17 starters.

Archer, a rank outsider from Sydney, beat the favourite for the race, Mormon, by six lengths. He returned to Victoria for his second Melbourne Cup in 1862 and blitzed the field of 20 runners by eight lengths.

Upcoming Races

Group 1

Queensland Derby


Eagle Farm



Group 1

Stradbroke Handicap


Eagle Farm



Group 1

The TJ Smith


Eagle Farm



Group 1

Winter Stakes


Eagle Farm



Group 1

Queensland Oaks


Eagle Farm



His win in two successive Melbourne Cups was not repeated for over 100 years.

In 1862 Archer carried 10 stone 2 lb past the winning post and become one of only three horses to win with 10 stone or more. The others were Carbine in 1890, carrying 10 stone 5 lbs, and Poitrel in 1920 carrying 10 stone.

Other horses who have won in consecutive years include Rain Lover (1968 and 1969), Think Big (1974 and1975) and Makybe Diva (2003, 2004 and2005). Peter Pan won in 1932 and again in 1934.

Makybe Diva broke her own weight record when she won her third Melbourne Cup in 2005 by racing with 58kg.

The legendary Phar Lap won the Melbourne Cup in 1930. He remains the shortest priced favourite to win to cup in the history of the race at 11/8 odds on.

He also holds the record for carrying the heaviest weight of 10 stone 10 pounds in 1931, where he finished 8th.

The three-year-old filly Briseis created a record by winning the VRC Derby, Melbourne Cup and VRC Oaks in 1876.

Carbine carried the heaviest weight to victory in 1890 with 10 stone 5lbs. The running of the 1890 Melbourne Cup also holds the record for the biggest field with 39 starters.

Melbourne Cup winners also include the two most successful jockeys: Bobbie Lewis (1902, 1915, 1919, 1927) and Harry White (1974, 1975, 1978, 1979).

Kingston Rule holds the record for the fastest time to win the Cup in 3 minutes 16.3 seconds in 1990.

Rising Fast won the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate, Turnbull Stakes, Caulfield Stakes, Mackinnon Stakes and the Fisher Plate in 1954.

The most successful trainer of Melbourne Cup winners is Bart Cummings with a total of 12. His father Jim Cummings trained one Cup winner, Comic Court in 1950.

In 2001, Sheila Laxon became the first woman trainer to officially win the Melbourne Cup.

Mrs A McDonald was unofficially the first female to train a Melbourne Cup winner, with Catalogue in 1938. However, at the time women trainers could not be registered, so her husband was registered as Catalogue’s trainer.

The from the first winner all the way past the winner of the Melbourne Cup, these horses will remain a big part of both Australian and horse racing history.

Picking the Melbourne Cup Winner

Listed below are some fascinating facts and trivia from previous races to help you pick a winner in this year’s Melbourne Cup:

  • 70 Cup favourites have finished in the first three placings.
  • The favourite has won 33 times.
  • The shortest priced winning favourites were Phar Lap at 8/11 in 1930; Revenue at 7/4 in 1901; and Archer at 2/1 in 1862.
  • The longest priced Melbourne Cup winners were The Pearl at 100/1 in 1871; Wotan at 100/1 in 1936; Old Rowley at 100/1 in 1940; and Rimfire at 80/1 in 1948.
  • The longest priced winners in the last twenty years were Viewed at 40/1 in 2008 then Tawrrific in 1989 starting at 30/1.
  • The age of previous Melbourne Cup winners makes it clear that 4 and 5-year-olds are the best bet: 23 x 3-year-olds have won; 43 x 4-year-olds; 43 x 5-year olds; 28 x 6-year-olds; 10 x 7-year-olds and 2 x 8-year-olds.
  • The sex of the winners is also relevant. Stallions have been victorious in 62 events, geldings have won 50 events, colts have won 19 events, mares have won 15 events and fillies have won 3 events.

Here is a list of the leading winning numbers:

  1. No 4 with 11 wins
  2. No 12 with 10 wins
  3. No. 1 with 11 wins
  4. No. 8 with 8 wins
  5. No. 11 with 7 wins

In 2005 Makybe Diva won wearing No.1. The last horse carrying No.1 prior to that was Rising Fast in 1954.

The least successful number is 21 which hasn’t been worn by a Cup winner since Bitalli in 1923.

Barrier stalls were first used in the Cup in 1924. The best barrier is 11 with 6 winners, followed by barriers 5, 6 and 19 with 5 winners each.

No horse has won the race from barrier 18.

In 1924 the winner Backwood started from barrier 7. In the years since, no other winner has started from it.

How interested are you in the jockey’s colours?

17 Melbourne Cup winning jockeys have worn black as their main colour. The last jockey was George Podmore on Evening Peal in 1956.

Navy blue and royal blue are also popular Cup winning colours with 14 wins.

Betting Online: Melbourne Cup Winners

It’s believed between 80% and 90% of Australians bet on the Melbourne Cup, so it is a busy day for everyone.

Why not take the hassle out of waiting in long queues to place your bet on-course or at your local TAB by betting online?

All you need to do is log on to your computer, register your details, select your race favourites, what type of bets you want to make, how much you are willing to wager and click the “BET” button.

What’s more, you can browse the best racing tips and form guide online from some of Australia’s most highly regarded tipsters.

Cup Winners News

The 2012 Melbourne Cup is scheduled to run at Flemington Racecourse tomorrow November 6, 2012, and here you will find the latest betting update for the race. Americain is favourite to win the 2012 Melbourne Cup at and become the sixth horse in history to win more than one Melbourne…